Returning Student Scholarship Awards

The DCA is the largest provider of scholarships at DHS – providing funding for both new and returning college students – and the only one offering recipients the opportunity to reapply for funding during all their years of college.  Celebrating its 75th anniversary of granting scholarships, the DCA will award a total of $51,000 this year, based on both merit and need.

Current College Students Receiving Continued Scholarship Funding

1. Anne C. Cary Scholarship
– Erica Hurtado, Southern CT State University
2. Anonymous Donor Scholarship
– Julia Hodenfield, Ursinus College
3. Anonymous Donor Scholarship
– Abiha Jafri, UConn
4. Critelli Family Scholarship
– Andres Morales, Sacred Heart University
5. The Heights at Darien Scholarship
– Andrew Boe, University of Vermont
– Dominique Guilford, Spelman College
6. Joyce Family Scholarship
– Tyler Stratton, Plymouth State University
7. Kremer/Massengill Family Scholarship
– Kelly Brustman, Virginia Tech
– James Fox, Boston College
8. Litt Family Scholarship
– Greg Marku, UConn
– Andres Morales, Sacred Heart University
– Liliana Saffa, Ithaca College
9. Margaret Harrington Scholarship
– Christina Chariott, Roanoke College
10. Nielsen’s Florist Scholarship
– Murtaza Jafri, UConn
11. Path to the Future Scholarship
– Rebecca DeMaio, UConn
– Murtaza Jafri, UConn
– Jocelyn Mendez, American University
– Lauren Sestito, UConn
12. PepsiCo Scholarship
– Laura Anglade, Concordia University
13. Ring’s End Scholarship
– Harrison Perley, Villanova University
14. Scott and Jane Pelley Scholarship
– Althea Perley, Miami University of Ohio
15. US Chemicals Scholarship
– Rachel Andriunas, Sacred Heart University

Over the past 75 years, the DCA is proud to have awarded over $2 million in scholarship funding to more than 1300 DHS students – through the generosity of the Darien community, and income from DCA programs, house rentals and Thrift Shop.  Scholarship applications for seniors are made available through the DHS Guidance office each winter, and the returning student application is posted on the DCA website each spring.  Awards are determined by the DCA Scholarship Committee, after careful review of all applications and applicant interviews. The DCA would like to thank committee volunteers for their continued commitment to this vital community program.  Committee members include: Kate Larson, Joan Barksdale, Ulla Kremer, Judi Linskey, Diane Schlinkert, Linda Terhune and Pat van den Broek.

Click here for more details about DCA scholarships or contact the DCA at 203-655-9050 or [email protected].