DHS Class of 2016 Scholarship Winners!


Darien High School Class of 2016 DCA Scholarship Award winners pictured above, from left to right: Ken Yamaguchi, Tom Berisha, Tyler Grant, Carey Hocker, Emily Coyle, Robert Waters, Laine Blummer, Niamani Williams-Coles, and Alyssa Findlan. Not pictured:  Savannah Chaput, Jennifer Previte, and Alexa LoPiano.

On May 19th the DCA presented 16 college scholarship awards and four community service awards at two Darien High School (DHS) ceremonies.  The latter awards are new this year, and given to two juniors and two seniors who have made significant contributions to the community during their high school years.  The DCA is the largest provider of scholarships at DHS – providing funding for both new and returning college students – and the only one offering recipients the opportunity to reapply for funding during all their years of college.  Celebrating its 75th anniversary of granting scholarships, the DCA will award a total of $51,000 this year, based on both merit and need.  The following DCA scholarships were awarded to members of the Class of 2016 for their college plans:

1. Anne C. Cary Scholarship – Robert Waters, University of Connecticut
2. Brendan Shay Scholarship – Tom Berisha, Southern Connecticut State University
3. Carolyn Jean Rich Memorial Scholarship – Niamani Williams-Coles, Amherst College
4. Cora Osherow Scholarship – Emily Coyle, Boston College
5. Darien Rowayton Bank Scholarship – Alyssa Findlan, Michigan State University
6. Joy Family Scholarship – Carey Hocker, University of Richmond
7. Kazia Klimczak Scholarship – Savannah Chaput, Colorado State University
8. Margaret Harrington Scholarship – Jennifer Previte, Coastal Carolina University
9. Maybell Family Scholarship – Ken Yamaguchi, University of California, Los Angeles
10. “Mr. Z.” (Darien Sport Shop) Scholarship – Savannah Chaput, Colorado State University
11. Nielsen’s Florist Scholarship – Robert Waters, University of Connecticut
12. Patricia Buchanan Scholarship – Tyler Grant, University of Connecticut
13. Ring’s End Scholarship – Emily Coyle, Boston College
14. Scott and Jane Pelley Scholarship – Carey Hocker, University of Richmond
15. US Chemicals Scholarship – Laine Blummer, University of Connecticut
16. William Pitt Sotheby’s International Realty – Darien Scholarship – Alexa LoPiano, University of New Hampshire

The DCA is grateful for the support of these local businesses and families.

Four students received the new DCA Community Service Award:

1. Helena Cush – senior
2. Robert Waters – senior
3. Thomas Kreuch – junior
4. Olivia Lew – junior

These awards were made possible by an anonymous DCA donor.

Over the past 75 years, the DCA is proud to have awarded over $2 million in scholarship funding to more than 1300 DHS students – through the generosity of the Darien community, and income from DCA programs, house rentals and Thrift Shop.  Scholarship applications for seniors are made available through the DHS Guidance office each winter, and the returning student application is posted on the DCA website each spring.  Awards are determined by the DCA Scholarship Committee, after careful review of all applications and applicant interviews. The DCA would like to thank committee volunteers for their continued commitment to this vital community program.  Committee members include: Kate Larson, Joan Barksdale, Ulla Kremer, Judi Linskey, Diane Schlinkert, Linda Terhune and Pat van den Broek.

Click here for more details about DCA scholarships or contact the DCA at 203-655-9050 or [email protected].