Women’s Luncheons

DCA Women’s Luncheons are monthly social gatherings, for both women and men, offering various types of presenters, from authors, to those with poignant human interest stories, to specialists on travel, theater, gardening, entertaining, and home décor. Luncheons are held monthly from October to June, and are catered by Michael Joseph’s Catering.


“Mark Twain in Connecticut” presented by Dr. James Golden, Director of Education of the Mark Twain House and Museum

Known for his wit and keen observations of society, Mark Twain is an American Icon and literary treasure. Join us for lunch and insights about Mark Twain’s time in Hartford, CT, where he was living when he created many quintessentially American characters and stories like Huck Finn, Tom Sawyer, The Prince and the Pauper and The Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court. Mark Twain’s time spent in Connecticut provides fascinating insights into this American legend.

James Joseph Golden is a Hartford, Connecticut native. He studied Divinity and History at the University of Edinburgh before completing his doctorate in Modern History at the University of Oxford in 2011. He has been a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Cambridge, and has taught history at Trinity College, the University of Hartford, and Wesleyan University. He has been the Director of Education at the Mark Twain House & Museum since March 2015, where he manages the Museum’s K-12 and college education programs and public academic programs. His published work includes an article in the English Historical Review and contributions to collections of essays published by Four Courts Press and Bloomsbury Academic.

In his Autobiography, Mark Twain said, “I was seldom able to see an opportunity until it had ceased to be one.” Don’t miss this opportunity to learn more about Mark Twain and his Connecticut experiences!

Men are welcome, too! Luncheon will be provided by Michael Joseph’s Catering.

Tuesday, December 5
12:15pm – 2:00pm

DCA members $20 / public $25
Prepayment required by noon on Monday, December 4.
Click for online registration.


To be notified of upcoming Women’s Luncheons, please subscribe to our DCA email through the below link and select “Women’s Luncheons” as one of your areas of interest, or contact the DCA directly.

Receive notice of upcoming Women’s Luncheons by subscribing to DCA emails through this link


Women’s Luncheons Calendar 2017-2018

January 9
Canyon Ranch nutritionist, Chrissy Garner, discussing “Nutrients for Sleep” and “Nutraceuticals for Better Brain Memory”

February 6
“What’s For Dinner?” — local services and easy menus presented by a panel

March 6
“Our Stone Walls: The Great, The Good and The Truly Awful” featuring Sylvia Reiss

April 3
Fashion Show by “Everything Is Rosey” — resort wear, spring and summer styles

May 1
Krista Fox on “The Power of Home” — what your home says about you and what you can do!

June 5
“Long Island Sound: How Much Do You Know?” featuring Dick Woods


Diane Schlinkert

Sue Tattar

Program Chairs
Kim Bealle
Krista Fox
Susan Hamill
Clare Hare
Kristin Harnisch
Deidre Hogan
Autumn Howard
Holly Hurd
Kate Larson
Carol Lester
Deirdre McGovern
Wendy Mulligan
Sandy Russell
Cindy Ryan
Marte Small
Gwynne Tibbetts
Kitty Wynne